LINDLEY LINDENBERG, ROTHENBERGER 4XS GMBH, Frankfurt a. Main, Germany - FRANKEN\ARCHITEKTEN

LINDLEY LINDENBERG

LINDLEY LINDENBERG is the third hotel of LINDENBERG Hospitality GmbH in Frankfurt with 100 guest rooms -  a concept that is neither a hotel nor a shared apartment, but a guest community in which the guests not only occupies his rooms, but also a variety of common areas which can be used together. 


The building consists of a seven-storey bar-shaped building divided into room wing with a perforated façade and the “Wunderkiste” on the south side of the building. In addition to public uses on the ground floor, in the “Wunderkiste”, which can be seen through a suspended cast-iron façade, partly double-storey common rooms develop over the fully building height into the vertical. Because of its complete glazing,  “Wunderkiste” becomes a show-window of the community in the city.


The main material of the staging between the decorative and playful Art Nouveau and the new sobriety of Art Deco is cast iron. “Wunderkiste” gives the impression of being made of solid cast iron and carries an abstract fresco. The façade is in its classic three-section in base, shank and rood top a reference at the “Gründerzeit” industrial architecture.  In the base, bodied deep windows are framed by ornaments. Window reveals and vertical pilasters structure the middle sections – the roof top forms a cornice. All these elements are not really built, there are merely scratched in the façade as a shadow, leaving a virtual imitation of a façade that could have been like this. Materials and elements are transferred from the beginning of modernity to the digital cosmos and relive a renaissance. Contrasting to this are the simple box-type windows of the rooms.

Client ROTHENBERGER 4XS GMBH
Location Frankfurt a. Main, Germany
Project-Team Prof. Bernhard Franken, Frank Brammer, Robin Heather, Manuel Naranjo, Sebastian Pajakowski, Mehran Rahmani, Julia Misselwitz
Status under construction
Dimension 4.340 m²

Narrative Spaces

parametric

semantic

scenographic

 

Scenography is not confined to  
the stage or screen, nor just to presen-tation events and trade shows. It is a design approach, rooted in narrative, that can be applied as well to individual buildings and even to urban environments.

more...

ritual

Publications

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 05.02.2016

LINDLEY LINDENBERG, ROTHENBERGER 4XS GMBH, Frankfurt a. Main, Deutschland - FRANKEN\ARCHITEKTEN

LINDLEY LINDENBERG

Das LINDLEY LINDENBERG ist das dritte Hotel der LINDENBERG Hospitality GmbH in Frankfurt mit 100 Gästezimmern. Ein Konzept, das weder Hotel noch Wohngemeinschaft ist, sondern eine Gästegemeinschaft, in welcher der Gast nicht nur seine Zimmersuite, sondern auch eine Vielzahl an Gemeinschaftsräumen bewohnt.


Das Gebäude besteht aus einem siebengeschossigen riegelförmigen Baukörper geteilt in einem Zimmertrakt mit Lochfassade und die südseitig angesetzte „Wunderkiste“. Zusätzlich zu öffentlichen Nutzungen im Erdgeschoß entwickeln sich in der Wunderkiste, welche von den Seiten durch eine vorgehängte Gusseisenfassade ablesbar ist, weitere teils doppelgeschossige Gemeinschaftsräume über die volle Gebäudehöhe in die Vertikale. Die Wunderkiste wird durch ihre vollständige Verglasung zum Schaufenster der Gästegemeinschaft in die Stadt.


Das zentrale Material der Inszenierung zwischen dem dekorativ Verspielten des Art Nouveau und der neuen Nüchternheit des Art Deco ist Gusseisen.
Die Wunderkiste vermittelt den Eindruck, aus massivem Gusseisen gefertigt worden zu sein und trägt ein abstraktes Fresko. Die Fassade des Zimmertrakts ist in ihrer klassischen Dreiteilung in Sockel, Schaft und Dachabschluss eine Referenz an Gründerzeit Industriearchitektur. Im Sockel werden bodentiefe Fenster von Ornamentfeldern gerahmt. Fensterlaibungen und vertikale Lisenen strukturieren den Mittelteil, den Dachabschluss bildet ein Gesims. Alle diese Elemente sind aber nicht wirklich gebaut, sondern nur als Schatten in die Fassade geritzt und lassen ein virtuelles Nachbild einer Fassade, die so hätte sein können, entstehen. Hier kommt die computergesteuerte Fräsung in Verolith Platten zum Einsatz, die Franken Architekten bereits für das LIBERTINE in Frankfurt entwickelt hat. Materialien und Elemente werden aus dem Beginn der Moderne in den digitalen Kosmos transferiert und erleben eine Renaissance. Kontrastierend dazu sind die schlichten Kastenfenster der Zimmer.

Kunde ROTHENBERGER 4XS GMBH
Standort Frankfurt a. Main, Deutschland
Projekt-Team Prof. Bernhard Franken, Frank Brammer, Robin Heather, Manuel Naranjo, Sebastian Pajakowski, Mehran Rahmani, Julia Misselwitz
Status In Bearbeitung
Dimension 4.340 m²

Narrative Spaces

parametric

semantic

scenographic

„Szenografie beschränkt sich

nicht auf die Bühne oder die Leinwand, auch nicht auf Events und Messen. Sie ist ein Entwurfsansatz, der in der Narration wurzelt und auch auf Gebäude oder sogar städtebau-
liche Aufgaben angewendet werden kann.“

mehr...

ritual

Publikationen

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 05.02.2016